A Sadness Overwhelming

 

It’s life itself that makes me so sad

Longing for this, missing what I had

It’s looking back at things that were done

And some that weren’t and may have been fun

Sometimes it hurts to look back and see

Various aspects that I wish weren’t me

Things that caused me to act certain ways

Resulting in things missed in those days

Paths that I’ve taken and I wished I hadn’t

Directions my fears as I was then, and so sent

 

All I can do is pull in my thoughts

Forget all those haves and have-naughts

Put away the sadness of times gone

Escape from depression for things that I long

Wishes that will never be seen by me

Fears that directed away from that I won’t see

Because it is all fruitless to live in the past

Life is so short and not so much left to last

When instead we need to look just ahead

Instead of where life has already lead

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

