The Purposeless Railroad

 

So sad, so sad, that’s what I feel

In a life that is at best surreal

Wanting to be known for myself

But endlessly sitting upon a shelf

 

Looking outward with great eyesight

Not encumbered by day or night

But having no light to illuminate

Where to place my sightless fate

 

Long ago the flash went out

Chilled by the soundless shout

Hidden in brush and random trees

A solemn forest upon my knees

 

A shelter always sought and won

Going unseen by every one

Lost in the shuffle of my very feet

Unable to handle the pained retreat

 

Never given instructions for life

Moving along the rails of strife

I continue until the end is near

Knowing no progress in leaving here

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Purposeless Railroad

  1. I can sympathize with the “Voice” in this poem…

Leave a Reply

