The Wide Eyed Highway of the Past

When I was small, just a couple of feet high
Sure the viewing angle was very severe
With not much height from ground to eye
Such distances were filled with fear

I had looked across the street of many steps
Convinced that I would lose my way home
The houses over there seemed very small
It was a place not encouraging to roam

The sidewalks there couldn’t be as wide
I could barely see them from this far away
The trees did seem large and overbearing
But I was sure I’d go over there some day

But I was at most a year or three
Scarcely higher than a garden fence
Neighborhood was an unknown term
Talk of people across it made no sense

But eventually people moved in over there
People with kids just like us on this side
And soon we crossed the road of fear
And we played with them rather than hide.

It was good to practice crossing streets
Soon it would be a daily thing to do
Distances became a common place
When we began going to school

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wide Eyed Highway of the Past

  1. Mary says:

    Indeed, the world seemed so huge and unknown to us then and there is still so much more to explore even today…….just not enough time left to cross all the roads we want to!

  2. Very nice Remembrance 🙂

Leave a Reply

