A Long Silence

Alas, I cannot wait no more
To hear that knock upon my door
The startling ring of the telephone
The thrilling voice that chills my bone

Oh where are the persons I once knew
And in particular, where are you?
The one that I thought loved me so
Our messages failed, I no longer know

Once upon a time, it was once said
But now that fantasy is essentially dead
We no longer speak to each other’s ear
Yet I still long for your voice to hear

Have I gone deaf or become obscene
No words pass now, our voices are lean
Long has it been since I heard the sound
My joyful outlook is nearing ground

So hearing no objections I silently lay
In the bed, quiet, for another day
Lying in wait for the ending now clear
But still holding your memories dear

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

