That Ship Has Sailed

Nothing’s changed since I was a kid
There is no new news for me
Now that I’ve gone through an adult life
Many others have changed that I see

I was frustrated to find a good friend
Someone to hang with by day
But somehow they always seemed busy
When I would come out to play

I thought I was nice, pleasant to know
No different than anyone else around
And I still hold that as mostly true
Even though selfish as it may sound

But here I am, typing not talking
Pretending that I have a real life
The truth is that I have so few friends
And that’s including my wife

I have more time now since retiring
I get more done that ever before
But looking for friends results in the same
The running away and closing the door

I really can’t blame anyone for this
Who’s to tell them what they should do
We all pick friends who we like to be with
And so there is no way I can blame you

It’s just my nature to be standoffish I guess
Just to be a little off to the side
Why this results in no one around
Is something they never confide

So I will write, and read by myself
Until the end, whenever that may be
Having delusions of grandeur
Cause it’s all that’s given to me

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

