1,2,3,4, Let Me Tell You More

Let me make a fool of you
And let me count the ways
I’m counting rather quickly
Before I’m overcome by haze

Belief in a spirit man
Because he tells you so
Believe in what he tells you
Because only he does know
Do not question his authority
Just believe and let it go
You are only mortal beings
Seeing what’s beyond what you can show

Believe in a rotten book
Filled with immoral demands
Follow it because it says so
Sculptured by so many hands
Believe in its revisions
It’s still the same human plan
If you can’t just reject the old
You must accept changes made by man

Because of all the changes allowed
Let me change religions to one that’s for me
Then I will make those mine also
Let me select beliefs from what I see
The whole thing doesn’t matter
Reject the parts that I disagree
It’s just a change in the show
It doesn’t matter, I will believe

Tell me who or what doesn’t fit
Tell me quickly because I can’t wait
And I’ll dismiss them when I can
For those of you who do not hate
But only chastise without word
I’ll limit myself to discriminate
Once again letting others tell me
What to do while I await

There has never been and never will
Be any proof of life beyond
Such hopes have always been
Like fading ripples in a pond
Now you seen them, now you don’t
Waving the lily pads and fronds
Reality says that it was true
But was it made by God that you are fond?

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

