She Said

She said to me that it was the dream of a friend
I turned in fear as she was leaving the room

She promised me that it was only a dream
I thought I heard the closing of the door

She said it was just an irrelevant thought
She returned with the mail and the paper

She said it was only her temper letting go
I was scared that she would be mad all day

She said she was sorry but unsure of it now
I knew she would never offer an apology

She said it wasn’t a dream or an errant thought
I awoke in a nightmare that wouldn’t leave me

She said it was the only way she could go
I thought that she was out to help a friend

She said on the phone that she was gone away
I couldn’t help fearing that she wouldn’t return

She said goodbye and that it was forever
I had a fear that wouldn’t go away after she was gone

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

