The Commuter Train

The train is always moving, running down the track
Bouncing, snorting and huffing, seldom turning back

I want to get on the train, I want to move along
But I am not musical, I have yet to find a song

Different tracks ahead, some lead to a crash
Sometimes through a marsh, leading only to a rash

I wish the train was easy, to change directions for me
But it runs on popular rails, sometimes difficult to see

I go along with the rails as they go, I cannot make my own
I sit inside a single boxcar, carried as it routes are shown

We cannot dictate separately, we must find a single place
With many stares in and out, we need to find our face

Sometimes our skin will tan, or maybe it the wind will burn
But in our effort to go along, we follow with a common turn

Until we find a station, a place where we belong
To be happy as all others, to sing a contented song

But when to jump from the car, abandoning the rail
There simply isn’t one place, but in finding it we must not fail

Yet somewhere is a place to be, it’s before you on the ground
A place of real contentment, a place for you to be found

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

