Out of Step With Religion

I came here to die, it doesn’t matter where I am
It is simply that I will die once I began
I have no future plans past the end of my days
That’s just a distorted, out of date, biblical phase
To believe I will exist past my own cessation
There is no proof in any religious creation

I will simply fold my arms and die
Seeing bright lights will not cause me to try
Reaching out for a synapse triggering in my brain
Pure rationality tells me that would be insane
My body will have given up its signs of life
And finally, ultimately, I will be free of strife.

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Out of Step With Religion

  1. It’s not a matter of whethr or not it shall go on or not,I simply don’t know, and never will. Frankly, I have more doubts than affirmations (zero). The same similarity as with being an aetheist or an agnostic, you can’t truly be an aestheist because you just don’t know whether there is a Supreme Being or not, until you do.

    • To say you never will know sort of blocks any attempt to know…

      Here is one logical proof of the existence of God—which could lead one to Know that their soul lives on…

      http://bahai-library.com/pdf/h/hatcher_logical_proof_god.pdf

      • Firstly: As you say, saying ‘never’ is a conclusion and blocks attempts to know something, just as you say. My only method of clarity is saying that never does not extend beyond death, because of the limitations of ‘knowing’ anything beyond death. It is frustrating just as the use of ‘faith’ clouds the issue when used in circular logic, “I have faith that I have faith’ basically, and there is not an arguable point to deny someone else’s faith.
        Secondly, while in college, I learned that ‘logic’ is merely a process or argument, the one ending with the best argument is the winner, i.e. logical. To site logic is to deny the logic of many others through time that have successfully argued the opposite viewpoint as a different, or previous time.
        However, I realize the benefits of having faith, even the necessity, but logically, at least to me, it is a matter of opinion, or argument, and still has no proof aside from the mouths of men, being the word of man and no more.
        Thanks Alex.

  2. Dear Barbara,

    Very good poem; except…

    It is sad to me you don’t yet realize your Identity—soul—will live on forever…

Leave a Reply

