The Stars Almighty

I reside in the midst of thousands and millions
Of stars and planets and moons
And stare at a single illumination of one
With little hope of understanding them soon

With a twist of my neck I see that I am surrounded
While many escape my vision and view
And in the middle of the day when they all fade away
It’s what the light of our singular sun will do

But worse than this temporary blindness
A short vision that changes by day
Is the wish for non-science believers
That causes it always to be held at bay

So that their belief in a deity is unencumbered
By thinking that excludes simple math
Hiding behind the shelter and bliss of ignorance
Not to provoke their Godly wraith

Who we owe our existence we must surely know
Not plainly to a God who gives us no word
But rather a fluke of natural causes
Not something that someone else heard

So take your fingers out of your ears
Stop filling them with repetitive cadences
Stop saying “Da da da da” to fill your head
Just because the Bronze Age so says….

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

