The Grass In The Backyard

Oh little did I know, when I was young,
stepping over the gravel filled drive
that I would remember it as a joyful time
before continuing with life and it’s strive
that walking barefoot would be remembered
when it was simply our choice to make
before we became socially adherant,
another vessel in somebody’s wake

I remember a hill in my backyard
incredibly tall and so frightening
but not so tall or intimidating as to be
the feared source of some nightly lightning
it was so high that I couldn’t see past it
and it seemed to come from it’s insurmountable peak
it was scary to even think of approaching
so steep that to climb it would leave you so weak

But now it is just a man made structure
created to support the highway above
and I imagine the tremendous backyard
once crawling through the grass that I loved
an unbroken expanse lit by the sun
and even in my elderly years I know well
that a few quick strides I’d be across quickly
and there would no longer be something to tell

When there used to be a large dirt pile
we joked about digging down through the Earth
but not really having any certain plans
for a hole that was exciting by it’s girth
The world was so small in that backyard
and the rest of it also smaller in mind
we now can encompass it many ways
most easily by imagination we find

the eyes of a young child seeking limits
had only immediate perception to foretell
but with an open eye and with mechanics
we can see across the universe and time as well
but it is only with our memory and imagination
can we recall and show others our pride
as we once again crawl in our backyards
which were once so wondrous and wide

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Grass In The Backyard

  1. You remind me of my visit to my grandparent’s farm, after 30 years of growing up—the vastly-long driveway was so short—the huge chicken coop such a small little shack

    Thank you, Barb, for stimulating good memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

