Apocalypse Now or Later

 

Today I thought about those arrogant few

Who think they know more than me or you

Those who prepare for the coming demise

Seeing destruction through jaded eyes

 

It’s not that I oppose a chant from a Boy Scout

Who’s “Be Prepared!” is their sensible shout

Don’t let the situation get, out of control

Before you know it they will say that, “heads will roll”

It’s just the extremists who fortify their lives

With senseless amounts of guns and knives

Which are largely useless right up until

Their request for more arms is suitably filled

 

That’s not to say, more munitions at all

Not when they are already stacked up the wall

I speak of limbs, mostly arms and hands

To pick up those weapons against the bans

By those who would rob them of their storage

Of which they have so diligently foraged

Along with perishables, such as foodstuffs

Something of which you can get enough of

 

But pay as they will, I’ll have no say in their buys

I just don’t myself,  see through their fear filled eyes

It’s not for me to say when we will be all dead

It’s not paranoia from which I am lead

But it rankles with me, is by my own estimation

That it is their sense of, important self-adoration

Deeming that they are so important to the scheme

Causing them yet to be so flagrantly extreme

 

What makes them think that the world will cease

In their own lifetime, and that they must police

the hordes left at the end of it all

Precludes that they must build a wall

The final judgment’s been called for, many a time

Deadlines come and go without much of a rhyme

Apocalypse now, or tomorrow they say

“It surely must come within my own day.”

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

