A Narrow Band

I see, I see, colors that were born to me

A narrow band that we were born to see

We can’t go beyond what our eyes detect

But those other bands we can’t neglect

 

It seems to me, the universe I see

Goes on and on infinitesimally

Yet we only know it by using science

Turning religion back as no reliance

 

It is like that for most of our quests

We see answers that answer them best

And science, though riddled with errors

Won’t let changing facts close it’s pores

 

It allows for corrections to it’s beliefs

Not standing back calling truth a thief

Pleading ignorance of what it resists

Losing years of a universal grist

 

The shutters of religion are just too blind

The one at home is the only one we find

Rejection of all for the same defects

Purposely giving the rest neglect

 

Keep your eyes open to the truth of sight

Don’t let prophesy disclose us in night

Step out of the blinding religious booth

Filled with the intentional ignorance of truth

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Narrow Band

  1. This is true. My best high school friend and yourself as members, are just about my limit of knowledge. But considering the two of you, and the little I’ve heard about the faith itself, I’m probably wrong….

  2. While I can laud this poem for revealing some of the most obvious faults of most organized religions, my experience of most mainstream science reveals as much “fundamentalism” as most religious practice…

    Yet, there are laudatory efforts being made in science as well as in Religion 🙂

Leave a Reply

