The Light Willing

I strode out into the light of day

Though it was mostly blinding me

I pushed aside the filtering clouds

And I thought that at last I could see

 

But the light that shone wasn’t up to par

It had a tinge of disquieting gloom

It enlightened my face considerably

But barely illuminated my room

 

So in blindness I hoped that I was surrounded by light

I looked away from the corners of hopelessness

I drove ahead and rounded a corner

But the spotlight was unexpectedly less

 

So I turned off the bulb and lay in it’s absence

I watched as the sun drew its light with itself

And soon the reflected light of the moon was nigh

And I surrendered my hopes to the shelf

 

I curled into a ball for a restless eon

For it always seems to be forever with doubt

I hesitated to uncurl and expose myself again

When I knew that the lights had gone out

 

But hope remains in the old box at the bottom

Of the closet where my sheltered dreams accumulate

With a whisper of chance that someday, perhaps soon

They’ll come out and it won’t be too late.

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Light Willing

  1. Thanks Alex. Sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier. Barbara

Leave a Reply

