This Weed is Your Weed

Some words and music by Woody Guthrie (This Land is Your Land)
©1956 (renewed 1984), 1958 (renewed 1986) and 1970 TRO-Ludlow Music, Inc. (BMI) R
ehashed by Barbara Blackcinder (2013)

Chorus:

This plant is your plant, this plant is our plant

From California, to the New York Island

From the self-grown gardens, to the vast green oceans

This weed was made for you and me

Verses:

As I was walking down the road of life

I stumbled into a world of strife

I saw below me a large green valley

This weed was made for you and me

Chorus

I fought and grumbled and I’ve stumbled down my way

through the fertile grounds growing naturally

my mind was hearing it was calling me

this plant was made for you and me

Chorus

the leaves so hearty while through it walking

the branches weaving and my mind it’s filling

my head was clearing my thoughts were growing

this weed was made for you and me

Chorus

as I was breathing – I was caught sleeping

the sign said hell no – without a reason

it said the word treason… but it was lyin’

that sign was denying you and me

Chorus

from the hemp fields in our land – our borders grow all that we need

we don’t need drug traffic – we have our own seed

yet they defile us, they judge and jail us

but this land is being grown for you and me

Chorus x2

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Weed is Your Weed

Leave a Reply

