Another Bright Shiny Day

I saw a lot of faces, just looking the other day

Despite differing ages, I could not look away

It wasn’t that their age made any difference at all

In fact it wasn’t at all what caused my sight to stall

There was something they shared as they looked back at me

It was quite spectacular, quite easy to see

 

What caught my eye, and so gave me a thrill

Is the smiles that I saw, that please me still

Such a very special, remarkable thing

A double splendid gesture that makes souls sing

An inner reflection that exits as a smile

It’s inside joy that puts a sparkle in your eye

 

Some faces were old, yet beauty persisted

A veil over wrinkles, their worn skin misted

Young skin glowing, yet they were no more attractive

No matter on which end of the spectrum they live

It was in their eyes, of that I have no doubt

But was it beauty shining or leaking out?

 

They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder

But I’m convinced that it’s inner shine that makes it bolder

Whatever you might say that makes a face ignite

It’s no matter if it starts as a pleasant sight

Or if birth or life has determined that it’s not

A smile shines out and shows the happiness you’ve got

 

So grin to me a smile from ear to ear

Let out that happiness that is so near

Make me grin back and I will reflect your joy

It’s exquisite happiness with which we toy

So don’t hide away the very best thing that you’ve got

And all others will show that they also have a lot

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Bright Shiny Day

  1. Wonderful Sentiments, Barb…

    Love this phrase: “A double splendid gesture” 🙂

Leave a Reply

