NaPoWriMo 4 – Shopping For Guns

Gunstores, Gunstores, Gunstores everywhere,

I look at them excitedly, yet I just don’t care.

 

They sell by the dozens, by millions at any given store

People buy them today, cause tomorrow there won’t be more

Cause today they heard a rumor, a  bit of gossip sure

And by the end of the day, they’ve disappeared in a blur

 

I know that it might help, to have a sidearm in my pants

But somehow the extra weight, my figure it won’t enhance.

Or having a filled holster, tied down to my hip

Would make a stranger leave, without my giving lip

 

I admit I like the feeling, of sending a round downrange

But putting a bullet into someone, would have to be quite strange

Admittedly if I saved, someone from utter harm

Or helped an animal threatened, by a weasel on a farm

I would hope that I wouldn’t hesitate, and pull the trigger quick

Because we all know there of plenty, of people who are sick

In defense it would be good, to have a ready gun

So if I had to go out, I could blast at them and everyone.

 

I have put a bullet into a target, one or two, here or there

Buy never once at a person, have I ever drew, would I dare?

So I know I would be shaky, even if I tried to aim

There would be many deaths, one way or the same

 

Fearing for my life, I would be ducking out of the way

Just as everyone else in the room, hoping to have their say

Emptying out their holsters, wishing to find their mark

Killing anything that moved, while huddling in the dark

 

So I left the guns alone, next to the empty shelves

To preserve someone else, and maybe even myself.

 

Barbara Blackcinder

About Barbara Blackcinder

I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

