Cashe

It began with a thud, that I awoke from.

 

Instinct and training caused me to crawl from the machine

I knew my God had saved me, as he had long ago

I didn’t know the souls of my companions

And so I had to save them

 

It was a wall of flames, and cracking bullets flying over me

I was clear of one, but visited by the other

I turned and ran back into the flames six times

Each time my flesh felt the sharp, stabbing fire

 

I brought flames back with me and the  one companion

I could see through the encompassing flames

To the body of our vehicle, to the bodies of men

I returned through the flames that are with me still

 

At the end of six I was burning inside as well as outside

The bodies of my friends also burned, some alive, some dead

It was not my call, it was God’s choice, his decision

I  walked off knowing I was finished with my mission

 

The white halls were better than the brown walls of the desert

The hissing and explosions were gone from my ears

The flames no longer hampered my vision, burned my outer flesh

They burned within me still, and would forever

 

Barbara Blackcinder

(Cashe was a Iraq veteran, possible Medal of Honor recipient)

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cashe

  1. Tragic >>> Superb rendering, though

Leave a Reply

