A Fly in The Face

I sit and wait while the speaker speaks

But I must confess that my attention leaks

For I see a person that I hadn’t before

And she merely stares at the cat on the floor

There is nothing suspicious about that per se

But that was before the other day

 

All of a sudden some words were spoken loud

Enough to catch the attention of the crowd

Backs were stiffened cause we know what it meant

Our new visitor, was anything but heaven-sent

Instead they came with a plan and a course

That made about as much sense as kicking a horse

 

Suddenly blinded, a curse was achieved

All because that recently made AV was asked to leave

Her threat was taken and sure enough came to pass

But it wasn’t our kindness that caused her to be  an ass

For it had been preplanned, a plot that lay thick

A bit of cold gravy for a mind surely sick

 

So after a while the furniture was put back in place

We smoothed our feathers and straightened our face

Because there was nothing new about the grief that was caused

And in the long run, all it caused was a pause

A flare-up of temper and a kick in the seat

And soon we were back together for a meet

 

A long story made short, it’s too late for that

I tend to bleed on at the drop of a hat

So forgive me when I speak of a pain that comes and goes

Kind of a Charlie horse, we’ve all had one of those

Or a cramp that soon lessens and goes away

It comes and it goes, but doesn’t stay for the day

 

Just an irritation, a rash on the seat,

But it soon goes with the stomping of feet.

A storm or a squall no more or no less

Just an example of life’s commonest pest

Oh no, I’ve already forgotten what I speak of

Surely it must’ve been about the peace of a dove?

 

Barbara Blackcinder

 

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Fly in The Face

  1. This is the first piece of yours that I got “lost” in…

Leave a Reply

