A Can Longevity

I tilt my head back majestically as I suck the last dribble of the fluid from the aluminum can. It’s toxic welds hold together its shape while the paint outside of it proclaims its delicious inner fluid. My sucking motions produces tiny blood clots in my mouth as I draw air into my stomach, forming bubbles that threaten to expand and burst across the threshold of my throat and emit it with the gases inherent in the consumed fluid.

Tripping by the lack of attention necessary to walk a straight line, I bump into a lamp post, driving soft aluminum metal into my mouth and slashing a tear in the surface of my tongue. It bleeds while my toe throbs.

As I bounce off the pole from face and foot, I stumble into another who is paying more attention to their phone than where they are walking. A fight ensues with all of the hair pulling and fisticuffs of an enemy meeting on the battlefield, minus the weapons.

The can is dropped on the side and rolls into an alley. Soon it gathers bee remnants as the remaining liquid pools near the sharp hole tore into its side by the unexpected teeth and is sucked up by another creature that seeks only its sweetness.

This dries up over time and the bees no longer visit it. It becomes crushed by animals and humans that don’t see its worth and carelessly step on it. Old soda hiding in the bottom is soaked up by the similarly flattened body of a bee who ventured too far into the can just as it was stepped on, crushing it and cementing its waste with that of the abandoned aluminum.

As it said in the study: “Drinking out of a can reduce your longevity.”

Barbara Blackcinder

 

About Barbara Blackcinder

I write mostly for my own joy and release unfortunately, while hoping that it is enjoyable to others. I thank my followers very much and hope I continue to write interesting pieces for them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Can Longevity

  1. Intriguing, wild, piece—hope you work it up into a full-blown story

Leave a Reply

